The Right Keypad

The fast-paced world brings new technology left and right. The tremendous change has affected the lives of so many people like myself. When the cellphone craze started creeping in, the word mobility became a household name Meeting someone someplace became so much easier and in turn shortened everybody else’ patience.

At present time, new fads on gadgets and the like have gone haywire. People scampers for the latest in all, mobile phones, smart phones, game pads, tablets to name a few. Mobile phones have gone from keypads to touch screens and now voice activations are underway.

Looking back, I can still vividly remember the first cellphone I have ever touched-not owned but touched- was a Nokia 3210. My college friends bragged about these stuff to each other as these were pretty expensive back then, and can cost an arm and a leg-literally. After graduation, I then was able to purchase my own 3210 phone, I can’t imagine my happiness owning one back then. Always checking on it for new messages every 5 minutes or so. Such a funny thought to look back.

Cellphones became smaller as time passed by and then suddenly back to becoming bigger when screens changed from black texts to colorful monitors. Eventually, it turned smaller again as makers discovered innovative ways in turning chips to micro and I think it is also because people wants lightweight gadgets -for the love of mobility. Then one day, Steve Jobs created apple products and turned cellphones to SMART phones. There we met the beauty of touchscreens and multipurpose beauty of phones with downloadable applications and crazy games.

I love gadgets,but my love for them I realized is just a passing fancy. The material-girl in me only prevails for for a time being. Each day it differs, I wanted a colorful one, with a camera, with a WIFI capability and the list goes on. One day, my dream changed, I want a phone that can give me great comfort. I wanted something that can take me back to the basics and with what I really need. My preference turned from iTouch to iPress, I want a literal keypad. Right now, I am happy with the feel of my Nokia N70, courtesy of my college friend who bought a new phone for himself and discarded this old one. The old one is now my good pal and I love it!

Image

One thought on “The Right Keypad

  1. No matter how futuristic mobile phones are nowadays, there are still people who prefer physical keypads over touch screens, I’m one of them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

