Life and Getting a Job

I bumped into someone at the mall while eating lunch, today. He was an applicant with the previous Company I worked for. I can still remember his story, I think his story struck me more than his name. He used to be a well-provided son. They were well-off. His dad had a prosperous business and his mom a housewife taking good care of him and his sister. He lived in a family that was full of love and somewhat perfect or so he thought. On the 25th of December, his dad left without goodbye and with only a letter telling them he doesn’t love their mom anymore. He went away to be with his new family.

A very inconsiderate and bad father, that’s what I felt for his dad. But can we really stop someone from leaving if their hearts already belonged to another? I can’t stop myself from crying afterwards, Jeez! I am such a cry baby.

He applied hoping to land a good paying job, for his schooling and his sibling. He darn wanted to earn a degree. I admired him. He said, that his only revenge to his dad is his success and happiness. I told him, I wish him the best. Today, he asked me about his application and told him I no longer work there. I added that he need not stop looking for that good paying job.

Life will hand us any kind of situation, what we do with that situation depends solely in us. His story was sad but it is not very unique. Many have come from dysfunctional families that sometimes it becomes the norm. But why? Have we had gone insensitive? I did not condemn the father for leaving, I hated the way he left. The least that he could have done was talk to his children. But sometimes, that is just the way life works. My prayer all the time is that men become more sensitive with their families, if they should stop loving their wives just please not their children.

Leave a Reply

