Fear for Dear Life: Why Politicians Rule the World

I was told today that I should just accept how our government/politics work or risk being hurt by an Official’s assassin. This made my blood boil.

My daughter was diagnosed with a GDD (Global Developmental Delay) months back. At 2 years old, she only babbles. Together with my husband, we moved to the province and found a facility where my daughter goes for therapy twice a week. Elections came, and the incumbent lost. Many departments of the local government resigned, and many more will be terminated as their positions are co-terminus with the person holding the office. I could not quite fathom why that is. I guess it is in the constitution that Mayors may choose as they please who ever they want to put in certain positions for reasons of trust and loyalty. Ugh- “F” loyalty. How did this affect us? Well, for once it affects my daughter and the rest of the children with Down Syndrome, Cerebral Palsy, Autism and delayed development. The therapists at the facility where she is taught to pay attention and is aimed to close her developmental gap is at risk of losing their jobs. Next month the verdict will come out. It affects me because I do not want my daughter to be taught by some politician pet with no intensive training and experience. This is a sad thought and this is just the tip of the iceberg. If one wants to know the severity of the political situation, one needs to open his/her heart and look around- see how deep the rabbit hole goes.

I do not want to be the warrior of righteousness, as power-hungry people’s concept of right or wrong is already all messed up. I do not want to fight a useless battle with a phantom adversary. Our government is no longer for the people, no longer ours for the taking. We shout democracy when we are all slaves and have rest our cases. At some point we have already given up our freedom, by merely saying “It is how it is”. We breathe the power of the people calling the shots, and we call it peace-I call it surrender.

My point here is not to criticize the newly-elect Mayor of our town for wanting to work with people he trusts because I am sure that Mayors before him have done the same. My point here is for him to at least look at the bigger picture and appoint people according to their credentials and expertise. Our problems did not come from corruption entirely- the locals, my neighbors, my community’s problem started with having the right people in wrong positions and wrong people in crucial posts. Maybe, just maybe if the Mayor will look past personal interest, feud with the opposing party and consider the welfare of its people. Maybe and just maybe, things will be different. How hard can that be?

Selfishness. We are all busy updating our lives online, and we complain that our government offices and all its officials sucks. Our taxes were too much and we are angry that public officials travels in and out of the country for vacations. We go home, sleep, get up to work. Buy some Starbucks caramel machiatto or Bo’s cappuccino, some donuts at Krispy Kreme, plan some night out at MO2 or out of town beaches. I am guilty of these and for years I go home empty handed. Then I complain that the next payday is too far away. I go home with an empty heart. Not knowing where to go from here.

I hear rants of people being pressured and being played in this small town of ours. The question is, what have I done for my community? The world is too big for me, I haven’t even been outside of my own country. But I belong to a community, what can I do? I don’t know. I just hope that the therapists they will put there will be competent. From a mother’s heart, my plea and my prayer will always be what’s good for my daughter.

Monalisa Smile ❀

Β 

photo from Microsoft πŸ™‚

Image

One thought on “Fear for Dear Life: Why Politicians Rule the World

Leave a Reply

