To Perm or Not to Perm while Pregnant

I’ve heard from most mothers that perming your hair while conceiving a precious child is bad, and that chemicals may harm the unborn baby. I have always believed that, after all, chemicals has good and bad effects. I am a natural straight haired gal with brown locks. I’ve cut my hair several times but have not been fascinated with curls. My hatred with curly hair sprang when I was younger. My grandmother had my hair permed, the looks of a telephone wire and I hated it. Of course, I could not tell my grandmother- I did not want to hurt her feelings. That was the only memory I had and it was a bad one so I decided never to do it again. I’ve had couple of experiments with my locks, I colored it black because I got tired of brown. I cut it unevenly and then I cursed myself on the mirror.

Just until I became an HR Practitioner did I get tired of combing my long hair. I was not into short hair too because I looked like a giraffe, my neck just doesn’t compliment it. So, one day I decided to perm my hair for the reason that I would not have to comb it. A reason my husband disagreed. For him, laziness is just not a fit reason to begin with. But, a stubborn woman like me went ahead with it. I consider me a low maintenance, it only takes me 5-10 minutes to take a shower and another 10-15 mins. to get dressed. I don’t wear make up and seldom powder my face. I only scrub my face 3 or 4 times a week and then wash it with carrot soap, put a moisturizer and I am off to go. But the truth is I am just lazy, especially that every time I look at myself in the mirror I find no perfect reason to put too much effort trying to prettify what is already beautiful in God’s eyes.

Anyway, my first time perming the hair was a success. I mean, not having to comb my hair and then just let it be all through the day, I felt I can tackle other important stuff like the 30 minutes conversation my husband asks of me to give him everyday. This was almost 2 years ago and I wanted to perm it again now that I find myself practicing the profession I left for almost 2 years. I asked the lady at the salon near our place and they refused to do it, saying it’s bad for pregnant women. Out of frustration, I looked it up on the internet and I was surprised at what I found out. I was browsing through babycenter.com, asking the question “Is it safe to get a perm while pregnant?“, and the answers were amazing. Although there are no known adverse effects of getting a perm during pregnancy, the results may not be the one the lady would expect because the hormones during pregnancy changes the texture of the hair. It may eventually be an issue of a money well spent.

So, I’ll just have to wait few more months and I’ll have my not-having-to-comb-my-hair moments.

Pregnancy, ain’t it grand? 🙂

Pretty Pregnant Woman

Pretty Pregnant Woman

Leave a Reply

