Great Attitudes

This book changed me.

The first time I met my mentor, she was tall and intimidating. I was unsure of everything, the career that I chose and to where my life was heading. I knew from that moment she would assess me, to whether I am fit for the job I was given. One day she gave me a book, it was Charles Swindoll’s Great Attitudes. It was a book I never thought would start a change in me, and I didn’t even know it until few years after.

I am certain that my mentor affects the big chunk of the change in my attitude and I think God draw her closer to my life because I needed that change. Thinking of every single event in my life-losing a job, experiencing an earthquake, moving places, removing people and finding friendships; these form a great deal of what life calls it natural forces. I needed that book and I needed her because I kind of needed the assurance that life would always be moving constantly. That positive outlook did not take away the pangs of fear I still feel inside me when my kids are sick or my husband is not feeling good but it strengthened my hopes that these things shall also pass. That kindness did not make me a saint where I give alms to every single hand that asks for it but it made me gently offer the needed help when circumstances calls for one. The faith that would bring me closer to God is still a work in progress; and it is comforting to know that there is God I can call on to for every defeat and a God to celebrate with on my triumphs.

I strongly suggest this book to every person that needs an uplift in their spirits. What separates a boss from a mentor is Attitude. What makes us good in our jobs is attitude. What makes us a better wife and parent is also attitude. A great attitude changes an atmosphere of hostility, egotistical tendencies and selfishness. What characterizes a human being is its capacity to change its ways because it wants peace, harmony and love.

392503_233585070080009_1453192147_n

Leave a Reply

